Admission Process

Applications Open for Fall 2021

Ready to apply?

Application Process

Our application process allows your family and the school to ensure our program is a good fit for your student. In addition to the application forms and questions, families visit Explorer West to experience a morning in our community.

Application Steps & Requirements

Testing

Explorer West does not require an entrance exam, including the ISEE or SSAT, for admission. We prefer to get to know your student through our application process. Applicants complete a short math assessment and writing sample. Our goal is to understand students' mastery of grade-level skills. We want to create a low-pressure environment for this assessment.

Important Admission Dates

Monday, November 9, 2020Greater West Seattle Middle School Fair
Monday, November 16, 2020Financial Aid Information Session, 6:00 PM
Friday, December 4, 2020Sibling Early Admission Application & Financial Aid Deadline
Monday, December 7, 2020Community Coffee, 11:00 AM
Tuesday, December 8, 2020Open House, 6:30-8:00 pm
Tuesday, December 14, 2020Community Coffee, 11:00 AM
Thursday, December 20, 2020
Sibling Early Admission and Financial Aid Award Notifications Released
Thursday, January 14, 2021 Standard Application Deadline: 4:00 pm - applications received after the deadline are considered on an individual basis.
Friday, January 31, 2021Sibling Early Enrollment Contracts and Deposits Due
Thursday, February 4, 2021Standard Financial Aid Application Deadline. Applications received after this deadline will be considered pending availability
Friday, March 19, 2021Admissions and Financial Aid Award Notifications released for standard applicants
Friday, March 26, 2021New Family Response Due: Contracts and Deposits due by 4:00 pm